Lets Talk Chakras

Put your hand up if you’ve ever been personally victimized by the Chakra talk?! Mee!

So it’s becoming very popular and well known these days but what the heck is it? Chakras aren’t exactly the most simple topic but I will put it in the most simple terms possible.

What are they?

We have 7 main Chakras, they are basically spiritual centers that we have in the body that energy flows through. Having your Chakras balanced is extremely important. If you’re emotionally off, it could cause your body aches and pains due to your Chakras being out of balance. You can have over-active or under-active Chakras (neither are good for you).

Chakras originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC called The Vedas. It is recorded to be the oldest written. Chakra means wheel.Please note that there is more than one system recorded when it comes to Chakras. It’s an ongoing study.


Lets start from the bottom!

root chakraRoot Chakra-Muladhara

What does it do?

It is the root of your being, it establishes the deepest connection to your physical body, your environment and earth. The root Chakra is the most important of them all!

It’s characteristics:

  • Security
  • Basic needs (sleep, food, shelter, etc.)
  • Grounding
  • Physicality
  • Support and foundation for living
  • Survival

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Greediness
  • Eating disorders
  • Negativity
  • Insecurity
  • Craving of comfort foods
  • Exhaustion
  • Legs cramps or muscle spasms
  • Restless leg syndrome
  • Decreased circulation in legs and feet

If you think your root Chakra isn’t balanced, head outside for a walk, a hike, garden. Go connect with mother earth! Stones like red jasper, black tourmaline, black agate, hematite, etc.


sacral chakraSacral Chakra-Svadhishthana

What does it do?

This Chakra allows you to go with the flow. It allows you to have grace and acceptance and enjoy your life and achievements.

Its characteristics:

  • Creativity
  • Sexuality
  • Finances
  • Empathy
  • Emotions
  • Relationships

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • You’re controlled by your fears
  • Trust issues
  • Control issues
  • Guilt & shame
  • Depression
  • Overly sensitive
  • Anemia
  • Lower back pain
  • Joint problems
  • Low energy

If you think your Sacral Chakra isn’t balanced, dance! Get your body going, get active. Stones like nepheline, neptunite, orange calcite, peach moonstone, etc.

solar plexus chakraSolar Plexus Chakra-Manipura

What does it do?

This Chakra is the core of our personality, identity and ego.

Its characteristics:

  • Decision making
  • Self-discipline
  • Independence
  • Confidence
  • Opinions and beliefs

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Excessive control
  • Obsessed with minor details
  • Lack of direction
  • Lack of purpose
  • Lack of ambition
  • Manipulation
  • Ulcers
  • Poor digestion
  • Nerve pain or Fibromyalgia
  • Difficulty gaining or losing weight
  • Arthritis
  • Diabetes

If you think your Solar Plexus is unbalanced, meditate and attract yourself to the color yellow. Stones like citrine, carnelian, moonstone, etc.

heart chakraHeart Chakra-Anahata

This is the center of your bonds with humans and animals, your sense of caring and compassion, your feelings of love, generosity, kindness and respect.

It’s characteristics:

  • Love
  • Compassion
  • Relationships
  • Power of words
  • Devotion
  • Compassion
  • Forgiveness

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Feeling detached from the world
  • Lack of love for yourself
  • Lack of love for our planet
  • Lack of love
  • Lack of compassion
  • Poor circulation
  • Blood pressure extremes

If your heart Chakra needs to be balanced, meditate, wear the color green, give lots of love and practice yoga. Stones like nephrite jade, pink opal, pink calcite, ocean jasper, etc.


throat chakraThroat Chakra-Visuddha

The communication center of the body! One of the most important in my opinion. This is how we voice our opinions, beliefs, truths and how we express ourselves.

It’s characteristics:

  • Communication (speaking and listening)

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Fear of speaking
  • Shy
  • Social Anxiety
  • Stubbornness (problems listening)
  • Detachment
  • Problems expressing thoughts
  • Soar throat (chronic)
  • Mouth ulcers

If your throat chakra needs balancing, sing, drink lots of water, wear blue. Stones like blue jade, blue tourmaline, brucite, blue lace agate.

third eye chakraThird Eye Chakra- Ajna

The third eye Chakra allows you to see clearly in both the inner and outer world. The Third Eye allows us to access our inner guidance that comes from our higher being. This chakra allows you to see beyond words, the real truth.

Its characteristics:

  • Vision
  • Psychic abilities
  • Motivates
  • Perception of subtle dimensions and movements of energy

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Insomnia
  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • High Blood Pressure
  • Migraines

If you’re not balanced in this area, it’s time to get creative! Creativity will help loosen your rational mind. Hence why children tend to have so many gifts. Ground yourself.. often. Wear lapiz lazuli, lavender quarts, lazulite, larimar, etc.

crown chakraCrown Chakra -Sahasrara

The crown chakra allows you to experience oneness with people and nature. You’ll have an understanding that there is a deeper meaning to life. You’ll go beyond your ego.

Its characteristics:

  • Consciousness
  • Awareness of a higher wisdom
  • Ecstasy, bliss
  • Presence

How do I know if it isn’t balanced?

  • Lack of purpose
  • Feeling unloved
  • Muscular disease
  • Chronic exhaustion

Meditate, let go of the darn ego, help others without expecting back, love more. Stones like pink tourmaline, purple sapphire, purpurite, etc.


Please note that all of these I explain are if your chakras are under active. You will know if they are over active if you are experiencing the opposite of the under active problems.

I have a guided chakra meditation that I absolutely love! I’d like to share it with everyone! I do it before bed and I absolutely love it.



Questions or Comments?





2 thoughts on “Lets Talk Chakras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s